DRIVING SAFETY COURSE GUIDELINES

DO NOT TAKE THE COURSE BEFORE OBTAINING COURT APPROVAL

If charged with a traffic offense under the Subtitle C, Transportation Code, a request may be made to

take a
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driving safety course. This option will result in a dismissal once you have complied with all the

You are eligible for a Driving Safety Course if:
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You do not possess a Commercial Driver’s License.

You have not completed a Driving Safety Course for ticket dismissal in the previous 12 months (calculated
from the date or previous completion date to the violation date of your current citation).

You have a valid Texas driver’s license.

You have valid proof of insurance showing you as a Covered Driver.

Your violation was not in a construction/work zone with workers present.

If cited for speeding, your actual speed must be less than 25mph over the speed limit.

If you are eligible, you may sign up for a Driving Safety Course by sending the following items to the
Court or appearing at the Court on or before your appearance date:
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2.
3.
4.

A copy of your valid Texas Driver’s license.

A copy of your valid insurance showing you as a covered driver.

The Driving Safety Course request citation form Sign and notarized

Court Costs in the amount of $144.00 Money Order or Cashier’s Check unless the offence
occurred in a school zone then the court cost increases to $169.00. (No Personal Checks)

Again, do not complete the course until the court has granted you permission to do so.

Prosecution of the traffic offense will be postponed for 90 days to allow the driver to complete the course
and receive a certified driving record copy from the Department of Public Safety. Upon submission of the
driving record and proof of course completion, the citation will be dismissed.

Texas Law provides that certain traffic offenses may be dismissed upon successful completion of a
driving safety course. To have your case dismissed you must do the following within 90 days by due
date.

1) Request a copy of your Driver Record from the Texas Department of Public Safety by completing and
mailing the attached form (DPS form DR-1) and requesting driver type Form 3A with a $10.00 money
order for the required fee to Driver Records Bureau, Texas Department of Public Safety, P.O.
Box 149008, Austin, TX 78714-9008 or you can save time and request your Driver Record
by paying online at https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm and following
the instructions you have the ability to print it out the same day.

2) Take a Driving Safety Course which is approved by the Texas Education Agency in sufficient time to
submit the completion certificate to the Court ON or BEFORE the due date.

3) Present an approved certificate of course completion and your Texas Driver Record, Form 3-A to the
Court no later than the date indicated.

THERE WILL BE NO EXTENSIONS! Failure to meet these requirements will result in the fine
becoming immediately payable and you will be required to appear at a Show Cause Hearing. Failure to
dispose of this matter will result in a warrant being issued for your arrest.


https://www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/driverrecords.htm

